Millenary Celebration

The entire city is going crazy!

The entire city is going crazy!

Hi, and thanks for reading this post. Today’s kind of a special day – excuse me…yeah, right over there, by the champagne – a special day at Crisis Central, as we’re – I’m sorry, this will just take a sec…yup, more crackers, got it. And the pizza will be out in about five – man, it’s getting crazy! OK, where was I? Ah.  We’re – hold on; this is just so embarrassing…I told you , you gotta jiggle the handle! Sheesh…

As I was saying, it’s a really big day, because we’re celebrating the 1,000th visit to the blog! It happened sometime last night, and that means that Crisis? What Crisis? is now the most-read blog in America! It just goes to show that aging, personal crises, and self indulgence are THE hot topics in the country today, and I’m glad I can do my small part to add to the discussion.

The 100th visit celebration...

The 100th visit celebration...

I never thought when we started this how it would just take off, and I’m really grateful to all you out there who made it happen. To think, in just under 90 days and slightly more than 50 posts, the C?WC? team has been able to attract an average of…uh, wait a minute, math is not my strong suit…what, 11? 12? distinct hits every day, including holidays (Columbus Day was a little slow, but that’s to be expected).

...was a much more subdued affair (and largely anonymous)

...was a much more subdued affair (and largely anonymous)

You might be surprised that I said team, since I so often refer to “I” in the posts. But the truth is, it takes a village to raise a blog, and the staff includes folks who tirelessly look for the fine photos and illustrations you see, caption writers, a designer, and crack researchers digging up links and verifying facts. Then we have the post-production team, looking for typos that might have slipped by the copy editors and monitoring our almost-constant stream of comments from readers like you, the visitors moved to tears, convulsive laugher, or pure outrage by the C?WC? content.

I never expected this kind of monumental acceptance and support when we launched C?WC?, and rest assured we are all humbled and gratified. But we won’t rest on our laurels! The plan is to break 2,000 at an even faster pace – let’s say February 15. Seems almost Herculean, doesn’t it? But we’re up for the challenge, aren’t we team? (They said, “Hell yeah!”) That’s the spirit! And when we reach that milestone, maybe we’ll take the party public; rent out space here in Chicago, hire a band, bring in the best Belgian beer we can afford. And of course, homemade vegan pizza for all! So thanks again, and keep reading.

~ by mburgan on December 5, 2008.

4 Responses to “Millenary Celebration”

  1. ah very good post…glad I helped make it happen LOL

  2. Glad you liked it, and thanks for your contribution. You’re invited to the 2000th celebration bash.

  3. Congratulations! And here I am, thinking I’m doing pretty sweet with my record-smashing 5 hits in 1 day (the same day that I told 3 people about it)!

  4. Have faith–the hits will come. And I can give you a link if you want to reciprocate; not that being linked to me is bound to help you much…

Leave a Reply

 
