Christmastime/City Part II

With fresh snow on the ground and Christmas lights all around, yesterday I took my camera with me on a trip down to the Loop. I walked around Millennium Park, documenting some of the sights of our last holiday season in Chicago.

Madison (?) looking west

Madison (?) looking west

I’ve said before at C?WC? that I’m no legal scholar, and now it’s time to make clear I’m no photographer either (as I proved in my previous attempt to capture digitally some of the holiday festivities downtown). But that didn’t stop me from getting all artsy-farty and taking yesterday’s shots in black-and-white. I used the camera’s settings to do this, having no clue what I was doing, and the results bear me out.

The city in the Bean

The city in the Bean

When I got home I did some searching on the Web and learned I might have been better off shooting in color and then using my magical make-pictures-more-pretty software to convert to B&W. Of course, I have no idea how to do that either, and one guy’s explanation of mixer channels and opacity and percentages left me going, “WTF?” But maybe I’ll try it. And it could be soon, if the impending ice/snow storm offers some suitable subjects.

The umbrellas of Chicago

The umbrellas of Chicago

Yes, this is a rather short and rantless post. I have some time this weekend to take care of that.

Ooh, the lights!

Ooh, the lights!

~ by mburgan on December 18, 2008.

4 Responses to “Christmastime/City Part II”

  1. you crack me up….any way I’m sure Katie would love to help you learn photography :-).

  2. I think the pics are nice. Thanks for posting them. Your friend “Yum”.

  3. I don’t need to learn photography, at least not the basics, just how to use my camera to its fullest, getting all the settings down. It just hasn’t been important enough to me to commit the time to it. And Yum, thank you.

  4. ah…when did you change to Yeti? i’m sure there is a story with that, but I can’t recall at the moment.

Leave a Reply

 
