Walk, Don’t Run

Walkin' up that hill, with no problems...

What a difference a year makes. Last Thanksgiving I was on the sidelines of the Manchester Road Race (documented here), cheering on the Fex, preparing to be her running Sherpa for the NYC half-marathon, a day I also chronicled at C?WC? A day on which, as I said, I was so proud of her. Little did I know what she had in store for me. But she knew; oh, she knew…

How would I look with a kilt?

Anyway, on that Thanksgiving Day last year, I also cheered on my sister and two of my nieces. This year, with the holiday taking on a different cast in light of the IMD, I figured I would take the plunge and walk – not run – in the race. My “training” consisted of strolling to Whole Foods and the Second Street Brewery while I was in Santa Fe and taking a roughly two-mile walk from Grand Central to Alphabet City when I went to NYC last weekend. I mean, it’s not like I was going to run the 4.75 mile course, or even the smallest part of it. How hard could it be?

Well, if you want to see how I did, just look at the race results, #5688. And you’ll see me, Heather Whalen.

Huh?

The people behind us. Suckers!

Yes, in this time of the New Crisis and transitions and changes, I’ve decided it’s only right to stop living a lie and tell you all about my sex change op – no, no, that’s right. Here’s the real story: the New Crisis has at times left me addled, more than usual that is, so when I packed up my car yesterday with food and clothes and other sundries, I forgot my bib. The little number thingy that says you are a legit participant and not some Nutmeg State Rosie Ruiz. Luckily for me, my niece Heather, who was planning on running, was sick (though obviously not so lucky for her), and her bib was only a few miles away, as opposed to mine, sitting on the dresser where I had left it in West Haven. So as far as the good folks running the race know, I was a no-show and Heather walked, and not ran, in the rather pedestrian time (haha, pedestrian, as in someone who walks and as in not very impressive, common; oh, never mind. It‘s been a long two days…) of about 77 minutes. Though that was a marked improvement over my sister’s time of last year. I’d like to think I was the pace setter.

Rock on, dudes.

So the day was chilly, and we stood around for much too long before the race actually began, and I only saw two people I knew, and many of my chronic pains began screaming at me as we plodded along. It was a blast. (As you can see, I tried to photograph as best I could as I walked.)  Five miles of walking never went by so fast, thanks to the people all around and good conversation. We’re already talking about next year and trying to recruit more family members, and maybe even being some of those  zany people with the creative costumes (we’ll see about that…). I can see why for both the audience and participants, this has become such a cherished holiday tradition. Feel free to join us next time.

~ by mburgan on November 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
